Bouthillier et al described (in 1996) a seven segment internal carotid artery (ICA) classification system. It remains the most widely used system for describing ICA segments.:

  • cervical segment C1
  • petrous segment C2
  • lacerum segment C3
  • cavernous segment C4
  • clinoid segment C5
  • ophthalmic (supraclinoid) segment C6
  • communicating (terminal) segment C7

Text by Antoine Micheau, MD - Copyright IMAIOS


There is no image containing this anatomical part yet.

Download e-Anatomy

Mobile and tablet users, you can download e-Anatomy on Appstore or GooglePlay.

e-Anatomy on Appstore e-Anatomy on Googleplay