The American Heart Association (AHA) has published the nomenclature and segmentation (the 17 segments cardiac segmentation model) of the left ventricular myocardium, widely used for the description of disease-affected myocardial territories and wall function. This standard segmentation model is used in cardiac nuclear tests, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, echocardiography and coronary angiography. Individual myocardial segments can be assigned to the 3 major coronary arteries with the recognition that there is anatomic variability.


Basal Segments

1.basal anterior

2.basal anteroseptal

3.basal inferoseptal

4.basal inferior

5.basal inferolateral

6.basal anterolateral


Mid-cavity Segments

7.mid anterior

8.mid anteroseptal

9.mid inferoseptal

10.mid inferior

11.mid inferolateral

12.mid anterolateral


Apical Segments

13.apical anterior

14.apical septal

15.apical inferior

16.apical lateral





Définition rédigée par Dr. A. Micheau - Dans le cadre du droit d'auteur d'IMAIOS - 2016 de


Télécharger e-Anatomy

Utilisateurs mobile et tablette, vous pouvez télécharger e-Anatomy sur l'Appstore ou sur GooglePlay.

e-Anatomy sur l'Appstore e-Anatomy sur Googleplay