The Sacral Plexus (plexus sacralis(Fig. 828).—The sacral plexus is formed by the lumbosacral trunk, the anterior division of the first, and portions of the anterior divisions of the second and third sacral nerves.

The lumbosacral trunk comprises the whole of the anterior division of the fifth and a part of that of the fourth lumbar nerve; it appears at the medial margin of the Psoas major and runs downward over the pelvic brim to join the first sacral nerve. The anterior division of the third sacral nerve divides into an upper and a lower branch, the former entering the sacral and the latter the pudendal plexus.

The nerves forming the sacral plexus converge toward the lower part of the greater sciatic foramen, and unite to form a flattened band, from the anterior and posterior surfaces of which several branches arise. The band itself is continued as the sciatic nerve.which splits on the back of the thigh into the tibial and common peroneal nerves; these two nerves sometimes arise separately from the plexus, and in all cases their independence can be shown by dissection.

Relation.—The sacral plexus lies on the back of the pelvis between the Piriformis and the pelvic fascia; in front of it are the hypogastric vessels, the ureter and the sigmoid colon. The superior gluteal vessels run between the lumbosacral trunk and the first sacral nerve, and the inferior gluteal vessels between the second and third sacral nerves.

All the nerves entering the plexus, with the exception of the third sacral, split into ventral and dorsal divisions, and the nerves arising from these are as follows:

  • Nerve to Quadratus femoris and Gemellus inferior
  • Nerve to Obturator internus and Gemellus superior
  • Nerve to Piriformis
  • Superior gluteal
  • Inferior gluteal
  • Posterior femoral cutaneous
  • Tibial
  • Sciatic
  • Common peroneal


Скачать e-Anatomy

Пользователи мобильных устройств и планшетов могут скачать e-Anatomy в AppStore или GooglePlay.

e-Anatomy в App Store e-Anatomy в Google Play