Lobes of liver - Lobi hepatis


The liver may be divided into lobes and sublobes.

The lobation patterns differ greatly among species (for example, carnivores have more subdivisions that species with a more rigide spine such herbivores).

In carnivores (and referenced in the NAV), the liver has four lobes and four sublobes as well as two processes:

  • Right lobe of liver
    • Right lateral lobe of liver
    • Right medial lobe of liver
  • Quadrate lobe
  • Caudate lobe
    • Papillary process
    • Caudate process
  • Left lobe of liver
    • Left lateral lobe of liver
    • Left medial lobe of liver

The liver of the pig resembles that of the dog, but does not have a papillar process. In the horse, the left lobe only is subdivided into medial and lateral lobes, while the right lobe remains undivided. The caudate lobe has a caudate process, but no papillary process. The liver of ruminants has no fissures. It consists of a left and right hepatic lobe, a quadrate lobe and a caudate lobe, the borders of which are defined by virtual lines drawn from anatomical landmarks.

Text by Antoine Micheau, MD - Copyright IMAIOS
Veterinary Anatomy of Domestic Mammals: Textbook and Colour Atlas, Sixth Edition - Horst Erich König, Hans-Georg Liebich - Schattauer - ISBN-13: 978-3794528332
Illustrated Veterinary Anatomical Nomenclature - 3rd edittion - Gheorghe M. Constantinescu, Oskar Schaller - Enke
Miller's Anatomy of the Dog, 4th Edition - Evans & de Lahunta- Elsevier


There is no image containing this anatomical part yet.

Download vet-Anatomy

Mobile and tablet users, you can download on Appstore or GooglePlay.

vet-Anatomy on Appstore vet-Anatomy on Googleplay